AutoStarSuite.Net

Your Source for Meade AutoStar, AutoStarSuite, LPI, DSI and Telescope information
Welcome to AutoStarSuite.Net Sign in | Join | Help
Home Blogs Forums Photos Files Astronomy News

LPI Solution in Vista

Last post 10-08-2009, 8:39 AM by CCR999. 27 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (28 items)   1 2 Next >
Sort Posts:
  •  12-21-2007, 1:21 PM

LPI Solution in Vista

Few weeks ago I have purchased my first telescope 8” Meade LX90 along with LPI.
    I installed all the software, updates and… LPI doesn’t work !(?#&*^#). Phoned the store
    just to find out LPI is not compatible with Vista. I searched the web for some solution
    ( this is how I came across this site )
    Nothing. Very nice, that’s how my new hobby starts: with “dead equipment“. ( I am a
    complete noob, didn’t even have opportunity yet, to see what’s  “ up there “ )
    I checked Windows updates, Meade updates, HP updates again ( I have HP laptop) .
    Well …LPI is “dead in vista” … or is it ? Windows update recognized LPI as
    “ Trust Webcam 14823 “ and installed driver for it. This means LPI works and is usable
    under Vista, the problem is “Autostar Envisage” which can’t see the cam because its name
    was changed to “ Trust Webcam 14823 “ and it looks for “ Meade LPI “. Bingo !!!
    It occurred to me that the name “ Trust Webcam 14823 “ somehow needs to be changed
    to “ Meade LPI “  and neither one is “etched on the chip ”. So to make long story short,
    this is what I did to make it work. On HP site I found two updates for Vista called
     Essential System Updates, one released on 2007-06-26

h**p://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-51890-1&lc=en&cc=ca&dlc=en&os=2093&product=3289680&lang=en

second on 2007-10-31.

h**p://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-55210-1&lc=en&cc=ca&dlc=en&product=3289680&os=2093&lang=en